Forums > Talk > Technology
The web today is a nightmare
Created by Wirlaburla
Apr 23rd, 2022 at 10:38 pm
This OP is mostly some ranting along with information.

I'm a knowledgable tech guy, so I like my security. When it comes to web-browsers, it is just as important as ever to make sure to practice good security and privacy meassures and use something that also respects that from you. The problem is, the internet today relies on so much to even meet basic functionality, when prior to Web 2.0, it was pretty dang easy to make your own web browser if you wanted to put in the effort. Web developers mention today how difficult it is to make your own web engine, considering all the JavaScript functionality, HTML5 and CSS3, and support for web apps. Without these features, you have a browser that can't even use Google.

How did we get here? I blame both the Browser Wars and Web 2.0:

The Browser Wars, simply put, was a battle to dominate the web browser market between Internet Explorer and Netscape. While many others were in the running, the two top lions battled each other by adding additional features to become better than the competition. In the end, Netscape won, and it's engine carries on in Firefox.

Web 2.0 was an evolution of the internet, an upgrade trend that ended up taking off. It brought us things like micro-blogging, social medias, and user generated content. Around this time, corporations started realizing how much they could profit off of the internet.